Sky HD grief

Computers, gaming, gadgets and geekery.

Sky HD grief

Post by Damien Thorn @ Sun Jun 14, 2020 12:23 pm

Gah! My cobwebbed old Sky+ HD box has started ignoring the remote. This is a relatively recent replacement remote for the old original, and I've replaced the batteries in it to see if it was that already. It has been working successfully for a few months proper to now.

And this Sky remote still successfully controls the telly, and the Sky box responds both to it's own fascia buttons and to the control of the app on my phone, so what's going on?

I've done a reboot on the box tbh I can't think of much else to try. Any suggestions that night be useful?
User avatar
Damien Thorn
Spamcop
Spamcop
 
Posts: 14583
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:24 am

Re: Sky HD grief

Post by S1K @ Sun Jun 14, 2020 1:05 pm

Dirty IR sensor?
User avatar
S1K
 
Posts: 7847
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:10 pm

Re: Sky HD grief

Post by Dirk @ Sun Jun 14, 2020 3:21 pm

Turn all power off (box, & TV) remove batteries on remote at same time. Wait 20s and then power up again?
User avatar
Dirk
 
Posts: 32440
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:03 pm
Highscores: 5

Re: Sky HD grief

Post by Damien Thorn @ Sun Jun 14, 2020 5:31 pm

I've tried the power off thing already, and the IR sensor is clean. Grr.
User avatar
Damien Thorn
Spamcop
Spamcop
 
Posts: 14583
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:24 am

Re: Sky HD grief

Post by Aesgarth @ Sun Jun 14, 2020 5:52 pm

I can't help at all but mine intermittently does the same and it's really annoying....
Aesgarth
 
Posts: 5052
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 5:19 pm
Location: http://www.aesgarth.co.uk/uploader/
Highscores: 4

Re: Sky HD grief

Post by Damien Thorn @ Sun Jun 14, 2020 6:59 pm

Yes, it really is.
User avatar
Damien Thorn
Spamcop
Spamcop
 
Posts: 14583
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:24 am

Re: Sky HD grief

Post by DI Burnside @ Sun Jun 14, 2020 7:47 pm

Firmware update ?
User avatar
DI Burnside
 
Posts: 18881
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 7:44 pm
Location: Beds
Highscores: 7

Re: Sky HD grief

Post by Aesgarth @ Mon Jun 15, 2020 5:34 pm

I've been looking into this as it's getting right on my tits. Where are you with your sky contact? If you threaten to leave they may offer you a free Sky Q box... I'm probably going to have that conversation with them later this week.
Aesgarth
 
Posts: 5052
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 5:19 pm
Location: http://www.aesgarth.co.uk/uploader/
Highscores: 4

Re: Sky HD grief

Post by Damien Thorn @ Wed Jun 17, 2020 11:18 am

Ha! Fixed it.

I don't know where you're up to Aes, but this has worked for me - even though it sounds like it shouldn't.

I reset the remote control itself. Remove one battery, leaving the other one still in the remote. Press select on the remote for ten seconds. Put the second battery back in, press the Sky button on the remote, done.

I'm astonished this worked.
User avatar
Damien Thorn
Spamcop
Spamcop
 
Posts: 14583
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:24 am

Re: Sky HD grief

Post by Aesgarth @ Thu Jun 18, 2020 10:52 am

Damien Thorn wrote:Ha! Fixed it.

I don't know where you're up to Aes, but this has worked for me - even though it sounds like it shouldn't.

I reset the remote control itself. Remove one battery, leaving the other one still in the remote. Press select on the remote for ten seconds. Put the second battery back in, press the Sky button on the remote, done.

I'm astonished this worked.

Initial impressions are good. This is incredible. Thanks.
Aesgarth
 
Posts: 5052
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 5:19 pm
Location: http://www.aesgarth.co.uk/uploader/
Highscores: 4

Re: Sky HD grief

Post by tanglerat @ Thu Jun 18, 2020 11:04 am

Aesgarth wrote:
Damien Thorn wrote:Ha! Fixed it.

I don't know where you're up to Aes, but this has worked for me - even though it sounds like it shouldn't.

I reset the remote control itself. Remove one battery, leaving the other one still in the remote. Press select on the remote for ten seconds. Put the second battery back in, press the Sky button on the remote, done.

I'm astonished this worked.

Initial impressions are good. This is incredible. Thanks.

So basically, switched it off and then switched it on again?
User avatar
tanglerat
Ruler of the Queen's Navee
 
Posts: 7859
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 7:49 pm


Return to Computers & Gaming & Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

yt
  Enable youtube titles